top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlyssa "Arrow" Froehlich

School's Ups and Downs


There are a huge amount of things I love about school but there is also a decent amount I don’t like about school. Let’s start off with the things I do like about school then we will move onto the things I dislike about school.


Well, a huge thing I love about school is you get to see new people every day, make friends, and go through experiences with people you would never think you would till now. I have made a lot of friends through the years though many of them I don’t have today, but it was a great experience. I also got to grow up with different types of adults and got to see how they treated others and took care of people a bit.


Another thing I like about school is that it kinda brings out a bit of your creativity and favorite things. Like for example, if I never learned how to draw, write, read, and do math I wouldn’t know that I actually have an interest in those things. Now I constantly do all those things with passion.


School also helps you figure out what you may want to do when you get older. For example, I think I wanna be a math teacher or ELA teacher, maybe a librarian. But I also was thinking of becoming an author when I grow up so I can entertain others with my creative stories and love for fiction and fantasies. Writing also helps me express my thoughts and feelings that I’ve been through in my lifetime.


Now to move on to the things I don’t like about school. There isn’t much but there are things I do completely hate about school. Like for example, a lot of the dress codes and the fact we’re not allowed to wear hoods or hats on normal days. Yeah, I get it, people may not be able to see as easily but then you might as well make people move their hair out of their face also. I personally think people should be able to wear hoods and hats because, one, hats express yourself and, two, hoods make a lot of people feel more comfortable in their environment where they have to already deal with enough stuff. It’s like a place to hide away for a bit.


Another thing that I hate is that a lot of teachers are just way too harsh on their students. These teachers don’t know what these people might be going through at home and when a kid misses one day of homework I have seen the teacher full-on yell at these students. When a student gives a reason like, oh yeah it’s been really busy or yeah I just had a bad day, the teacher always says, “that’s no excuse, you could have done at” this time that time. Well, what if they couldn’t?! Sorry, I’m getting ahead of myself. But really, I think not only the students should become better, but the teachers too.


Finally, what I think should change for school is, I think that by at least 7th-8th grade you should be able to say that “Hey, I wanna be this” when I grow up, and the teachers should be able to start putting you in class that will help you go towards that thing. Like for example, I want to be an author. That would take ELA mostly, but if I want a teacher then that would take all the normal classes if I thought about it correctly. Then for all the other classes you wouldn’t have I think should be a choice. Yeah, it may not make sense, and yeah it may not be something that would ever happen, but it’s still fun to think about.


I also feel like there should be free lessons at school for a bigger range of instruments, like the violin and piano. Those are examples of instruments that we have to learn outside of school and play money for. Like, I want to learn the piano, but there’s no money I can use to buy piano lessons, so I have to hope for the best and see what I can find online for free. In the end, I still can’t read the music.


Now, to wrap this up before I make it any longer than it already is. Those are my likes and dislikes about school plus a little add on, on what I think should change with the school.

bottom of page