top of page
  • Writer's pictureNatalia Perkins

Poetry

Poem #1

Inspired by “Honey and Glass” by Peyton Cardoza

By Natalia Perkins


Everyone expects so much

Girls are expected to sit still

Not talk back

It’s hard for people to see how hard it is it’s hard to see your place in this world

Expected never be at their low

It’s never your fault for what people think of you

It’s hard for people to see that you should love yourself cause you are perfect

No matter how much you weigh how tall you are or if you look different

There’s a type of people that look like honey and glass

Everyone thinks you’re perfect and not hurting but you really are

Life is easier when you are the main character and there no problems

But that wouldn’t be realistic

There’s a beauty in knowing your place and never being sad

But that’s not how it works


Poem #2


Growing up is always scary

Our bodies change

We feel so many feelings you want them to go away

You start to stress out about school and bills

You just wanna go back to when you were young and didn’t feel these feelings

Then you start to wonder where all the time went

When you used to be carefree

Where did all that time go

Can I go back to being carefree

Where I had the whole world to see


Poem #3


I would like to say thank you to the people that have hurt me

Cause you might have brought me down for a week or a couple of days

But you also made me stronger

Maybe I cried

But I’m ten times stronger now

Sure you stressed me out

But it was all worth it in the end cause I learned more about myself

And learned to love myself

I will never back down anymore

Cause one day I will get over it and laugh

And thank you for making me stronger

Sure I was upset

But I’m better than ever now

Don’t ever expect me to back down or get hurt by you again

Cause that will never happen

You can call me names

You can make fun of the way I talk and walk

But I will never break down

I will keep fighting

Cause I am stronger than you think


bottom of page