top of page
  • Writer's pictureAva Stoddard

Mr. Harnik's interview by Ava Stoddard



I'm Ava Stoddard and I interviewed Mr. Harnik, who is definitely one of my top favorite teachers. He is the GT language arts teacher. Here are the questions I asked and Mr. Harnik's answers.


Do you like being a GT teacher better than a normal language arts teacher?


Probably not. The enjoyable part of being a teacher is getting to work with kids and helping them learn about something you really like. So, while I do love getting to design my own curriculum, I would probably like being any kind of ELA teacher. I will say, however, that I think I have the most fun students in the school.


How is GT different from other Language Arts classes?


Things go quite a bit faster. We do more whole class reading than the other ELA classes. That's actually something I want to include more of. I love that the other ELA classes do a lot of student selected reading, and I think I'd like to add some more of that to my curriculum. We also do a lot of formal writing.


How is this year different from other years?


Everything feels a lot harder to sort out and keep track of. There's a lot of moving pieces, so it can be difficult to keep everything sorted out. I feel lucky that I get to meet with my students every day. Otherwise, I think this would be a lot more difficult.



What grade is your favorite to teach?


Whichever grade is asking me this question of course.


What is your favorite book read in GT LA?

My favorite to read is 1984.

My favorites to work with kids through are To Kill a Mockingbird or The Book Thief.

What is your favorite book in general?

Blood Meridian, but I don't recommend any middle schoolers read it.

Why?

Way too violent.

Do you like BEMS?

What? Who could possibly answer no to this?

Are you friends with any of the teachers?

I don't have any friends at all.

As a matter of fact, I'd like to use this public space to personally announce a feud between myself and a certain 6th grade teacher. I won't name names, but he teaches Social Studies in the Bailie clan, and I think he's been stealing pistachios out of my classroom.

Do you have any kids?

Why little Noa of course.



bottom of page